Value

Twilight for NQAPsalm 139: 14 I praise you, because I am wonderfully made; wonderful are your works! My very self you know.

The Psalms, ah the poetry that sings to the soul, bringing our ever simmering emotions to the surface, out in the open for all to see. Psalms run from joy and ecstasy to downright rage and pleading for God to vanquish our enemies. Thankfully God listens to the whole “vanquish my enemies now” and I keep thinking I’m still here and I’m thankful that God does answer those prayers with, “Uhm, yeah, no.” Cause truthfully if God answered those prayers no one would be left.
We are indeed wonderfully made. Always have been, always will be. It’s kinda cool. I’m in awe of what our bodies and minds can do. I’m in awe of how different people are and the beauty that the difference adds. It’s much more interesting. We all have value. And I do not speak of monetary value as that is fleeting. I speak of the beauty of who we are as people, as the individuals God created us to be. I speak of that journey of discovery of who we are and how we can grow in loving and valuing  others who are also wonderfully made. I speak of the rich depth that each person can bring to our lives. Even those who cause us pain. (Allow me to be clear I do not mean abuse/harm that is VERY different.)

When I look back at all of my quilts – and I do every time I give my trunk show or lecture –

Gregory Case Photography, courtesy of Machine Quilting Unlimited
Gregory Case Photography, courtesy of Machine Quilting Unlimited

I see my quilting history and I cherish its value. I intentionally show other quilters quilts that are not my best work. (My best work is yet to come) I show them quilts that have had made me walk out of the room, knock my head on the front of the sewing machine and not go into my sewing room for weeks on end. I show quilts where my inexperience is blatant. I show quilts that clearly show progress. I can see a marked difference from “Twilight in the Bronx” to “@play”.
And therein is a portion of the value of the quilts. The progress. The “I kept going” I didn’t give up. I see the value in both quilts not solely because of the progress – they keep inspiring me. I can see new ways of making each quilt. As I type I’m reminded that on my inspiration wall I have notes that include stitching out a chocolate version of “@play”.  The “bones” will be the same and I have no clue about anything else.
There is value in the first quilt we ever make as it’s the first step in a journey that can last a lifetime. There is value in the 2nd quilt we make as we’re applying the skills that we learned from the 1st quilt. And it goes on and on. If. If we let it.

Happy Quilting & God bless!

Teri

Leave a Reply

