Trust

Proverbs 3:5, 6
Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
on your own intelligence do not rely;
In all your ways be mindful of him,
and he will make straight your paths.

Cold Spring iceOften when I sit down to write I have no idea where the words will lead. I think one thing and as I write something else happens. When this verse started floating out of my head I was in the middle of a moment of angst trying to figure out how to make something work. There is something I need to do and really don’t want to and because I’m thinking about this in “human” terms and can’t quite see what God has in mind here I’m “relying on my own intelligence” and my feelings.
botanical gardens with Misty 139I can not figure out for the life of me why God would want me to do this thing. I see no benefit at all. I know God does. It’s also my experience that God writes straight with crooked lines. Sometimes things just don’t make sense. And what’s playing in my head is Rich Mullins “Hold Me Jesus” You have been King of my Glory, be my Prince of Peace. I think the thing that’s dogging me is that two of the solutions do not bring a clear sense of peace. They would get the job done but they don’t bring peace. Sigh.
I’ve often said, “Whatever you want Lord” So I have to go with it, “Whatever!” and mean it. Can I just tell you how challenging that is? It’s kinda like praying for patience – and yes I’ve done that too. And this situation calls for that too.

I will quilt today and go to my seriously happy place. I get to talk with another quilter today too.

happy Quilting!

Teri

Leave a Reply

