Better than

chocolate swirl color swirlAmy Grant – Better than a Hallelujah

Refrain: We pour our miseries
God just hears a melody
Beautiful the mess we are
honest cries of a breaking heart
better than a hallelujah

About half of this song has been rattling through my head the last few days. Along with a comment at the end of a meeting, “she’s cute” after my very excited exclamation that I was looking forward to the next meeting I would be having later in the afternoon. I assure you that the comment was not an insult.
I’ve been thinking a lot about being authentic. I’ve been thinking a lot about who I am, my place in this world, my place in the quilting world. I’ve been thinking a lot about the gift of quilting and how grateful I am for this gift and all that has come with it.
I’ve been thinking a lot about how my heart cries out to God free to express itself. I’ve been thinking about how faith and emotion – no matter how lively or dry, joyful or grief filled, overwhelmed or joyous – this all comes out in the quilt making – and how the experience of life looks like a quilt.
I can see the stitching in the quilt how it’s clear the hot mess it was where I was a beginner, how it’s gotten better over time, more intense at others and just dances here and there. Beautiful the mess we are
And at times things feel messy – out of control with nothing to be done about it
God just hears a melody
God hears me, hears my melody, the offering of my heart
honest cries of a breaking heart
the heart of a woman who hopes to have listened well and has found her vocation – for now – as a teacher of quilting; the heart of a woman who genuinely loves to see others do well; the heart of a woman who doesn’t mind growing slowly and who is not offended by being “cute” because the joy of my heart is recognized.
better than a hallelujah
Hallelujah!!!

God bless!

Teri

5 thoughts on “Better than

  1. Beautiful. I am reminded of something written by Brennan Manning – “There is a beautiful transparency to honest disciples who never wear a false face and do not pretend to be anything but who they are.”

  2. Honesty will always be recognized those that are honest….by those who are willing to accept your gifts…

Leave a Reply

