Talent

CAM00810“Talent is not Enough” is the line I saw on a t-shirt at the Minneapolis Airport whilst desperately trying to charge my phone quickly and wait for my ride to the hotel.

Matthew 25:14 to 30
“It will be as when a man who was going on a journeycalled in his servants and entrusted his possessions to them. To one he gave five talents; to another, two; to a third, one—to each according to his ability. Then he went away. Immediately the one who received five talents went and traded with them, and made another five. Likewise, the one who received two made another two. But the man who received one went off and dug a hole in the ground and buried his master’s money. After a long time the master of those servants came back and settled accounts with them. The one who had received five talents came forward bringing the additional five.  He said, ‘Master, you gave me five talents. See, I have made five more.’ His master said to him, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities. Come, share your master’s joy.’ [Then] the one who had received two talents also came forward and said, ‘Master, you gave me two talents. See, I have made two more.’  His master said to him, ‘Well done, my good and faithful servant. Since you were faithful in small matters, I will give you great responsibilities. Come, share your master’s joy.’  Then the one who had received the one talent came forward and said, ‘Master, I knew you were a demanding person, harvesting where you did not plant and gathering where you did not scatter; so out of fear I went off and buried your talent in the ground. Here it is back.’ His master said to him in reply, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I did not plant and gather where I did not scatter?  Should you not then have put my money in the bank so that I could have got it back with interest on my return? Now then! Take the talent from him and give it to the one with ten.  For to everyone who has, more will be given and he will grow rich; but from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away.  And throw this useless servant into the darkness outside, where there will be wailing and grinding of teeth.’

True words, “talent is not enough”.
Talent needs to be
exercised
grown
stretched
expanded
honed
pruned
directed
invested in
nurtured
encouraged
given roots
given wings
watered
weeded
given sun
given shade
encouraged (yes this is a repeat)

Years ago I did some amateur cake decorating. I was pretty much self taught, just trying things out. I enjoyed the process from cake baking to figuring out the designs. I had the opportunity to take a class at a local party store that sold a certain big brand product. I enjoyed the class, I learned a few things. That was good. At a certain point the teacher asked me essentially if I worked for said big brand company wondering if I was there to check up on her. I was a little surprised and wasn’t quite sure how to take that. The next two classes she spent more time with the other students. The cake decorating skill was sufficiently developed that essentially I was in the wrong class. Within a year or two of the class a friend of ours asked if I’d consider going pro. I can not tell you how much I appreciated that comment.
Ponder 1I didn’t go in that direction for so many reasons but ultimately because that talent – hmmm how do I say this – I think this talent was used up. I could pick this up again and with some PRACTICE, be fairly adept. Like I could take up baking again and be adept and enjoy it, however I think I’d be squandering that talent that I can really make the most of, quilting. This talent has a bonus talent, teaching and encouraging, nurturing. And teaching is a talent that has been on my heart since I was little.
An interesting anecdote, every time I did one of those “spiritual gifts” where there is a process of discernment to discover your spiritual gift/talent. Every time there was a strong leaning toward administration. I get that but to be honest every administration position I’ve ever worked in have not brought me, or others, the deep sense of joy, growth and fulfillment that quilting does. Yes, yes I know that fulfillment is a minor part of the exercise of any spiritual gift/talent however it is the one that helps drive you forward in those moments when you feel like giving up, taking your toys home, burying them in yonder field. Joy, to me, offers a sense of certitude that I can not explain. I know deep down that this quilting, teaching gig is that spiritual gift and talent.
Even though those processes of discernment were rather clear based on my answers I’ve always known teaching had to be part of who I am and it wasn’t until quilting, well, something was just right. Holy.
This talent is exercised frequently.
There are struggles (weeding)
moments of great joy (watering)
oh I could go on and on, I won’t though
The important thing to know is that Talent is not enough
There has to be more
There has to be joy and peace
There has to be some kind of growth to know that this talent is not being squandered
There has to be some kind of fruit to know that there is life
That this gift is life giving

God bless!

Teri

Leave a Reply

