Hope

1447764750777One definition of hope is “to look forward with reasonable confidence”.

“Give and gifts will be given to you;
a good measure, packed together, shaken down, and overflowing,
will be poured into your lap.
For the measure with which you measure
will in return be measured out to you” Luke 6:38

As quilters we understand different types of measurement. We use lines to take us to imaginable places. When our measurements work we’re delightfully happy. When our measurements don’t work we’re freaked out pointing all of the places things went wrong. When we hand quilt and machine quilt we compare the length of our stitches. I could go on ad nauseum. We also size each other up by the fabric we purchase, the machine we use, again ad nauseum.

Lent is a time for hope. Hang with me here for a little bit. Lent is a time for looking honestly at our very self, to see the things that I like and don’t like about me. To look at places to grow and own that. I’m a dichotomy of person the things I long to do I don’t always do, the things I don’t want to do, those I do. Oh sweet humanity! Oh happy fault. Sometimes God shows us a mirror, and sometimes things simply happen that are painful reminders of our humanity and that we all need some leeway. That sizing people up can heal, and it can hurt deeply.

In this moment I’m taking it as a moment to heal, to see beyond the words spewed with fear, and anger mixed in. While this felt like it was about me, and I felt a need to be defensive; it wasn’t, and I didn’t need to. I can let go and not be responsible for the feelings of this quilter. I can give her the latitude that I would give anyone else, I can leave the door open for us to enjoy the beauty of things we enjoy together: quilting, and sharing the beauty of art.

img_20161122_211622When I teach, when I sell (fabric and machines) I do size you up. I listen to you, to your needs, to your heart. I listen to hear what you need. Sometimes I fail. But sometimes as I watch what happens, I see this beautiful transformation I see quilters, I see women finding in their art the confidence to move forward. I see quilters get machines they can, and do grow into. As I teach people how to use their machines and the options that they can explore, oh the delight. The look of joy on their faces as the options unfold and the person in front of me blossoms. You are so precious to me.

And so in this moment of Lent I cling to HOPE. Because HOPE is an action. It believes the best of people, it brings out the best in people.

Wild Cherry @cherrywoodfabrics So beautiful!

A post shared by Teri Lucas (@terilucas) on

As I head off to my sewing room to quilt and make plans for a whole cloth quilt involving cheddar and the moon I wish you peace today.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

